top of page
  • brookmcbride

Can A 61-year-old White Guy Learn to Dance

Scripture: And David and all the house of Israel were celebrating before the Lord, with songs[c] and lyres and harps and tambourines and castanets and cymbals. And when they came to the threshing floor of Nacon, Uzzah put out his hand to the ark of God and took hold of it, for the oxen stumbled. And the anger of the Lord was kindled against Uzzah, and God struck him down there because of his error, and he died there beside the ark of God. And David was angry because the Lord had broken out against Uzzah. And that place is called Perez-uzzah[d] to this day. 2 Samuel 6:5-8


Life takes some funny twists sometimes.


On Tuesday I came into the office super excited! Our new director of music and worship arts, Will Rand, was coming in for his first day with us! Will, just 22 years young, traveled all the way from Ohio by car to be with me on Tuesday. And in our first chat and working session (he’s going to lead the music for worship service on Sunday) we had such an incredible time! Immediately we found ourselves on the same page on so many levels! After an hour and a half, the synergy in the room was lifting my spirits and giving me great hope for Bear Creek UMC as we move into the Fall season. Our theme for the Fall, “And God said, ‘It’s a New Day!’” was literally taking on flesh in that room!


But, after an hour and a half of fun, we decided to take a break. And during that break, Janelle, our office manager asked to have a word with me in my office. This isn’t new, we often have conferences, so I thought nothing of it. She shared several items with me that we needed to clarify, and then, just before she got up, she took a sheet of paper out from under her note pad and handed it to me.


It was her letter of resignation.


She had been offered a full-time position for massage therapy just the day before and had decided to take the position. The pay was considerably more, and she would be working in a field that she had been trained for and experienced in. She shared how grateful she had been for this job. She shared how much she had enjoyed working with me and Bear Creek, but she just felt this was an opportunity she couldn’t pass up.


As happy as I was for Janelle, and I truly am, I was devastated. Janelle and I have been through a bunch together these past 4 years. We worked hard to get through the pandemic together and had grown close through that experience and others. I have grown to count on her in all facets of my ministry. Her smile and gentle spirit have always been still waters for my soul! How was I going to move through this new transition with Will, without Janelle?!?!

Life is like that isn’t it!?! Extreme highs in one moment, and an extreme low the next. David dancing in exultation and victory one moment, and David, angry and upset about a sudden death to his leadership team, the next. How are we to manage in this climate of such extremes.


One of my bishops, Bishop Michael Coyner, used to love to preach about the importance of “non-anxious presence.” His motto was always and everywhere try to be the least anxious of anyone in the room. Cut out the extreme highs and the extreme lows and you can manage. And as much as I love that advice, and try to live it, I find that sometimes, because of that attitude, I don’t celebrate anymore! At least, not like I used to. And I’m finding myself contemplating whether that is a good thing or not! The Mariners win in 13 innings, and I lift my two fingers and whisper, “not bad!” Our church band knocks it out of the park on the closing song and I turn and say to myself, “Now if we could just do that on every song!” I dance in my heart, but not with my hands and arms and elbows, and feet, and knees, and toes! Everything is done on a range between 40 and 60. I keep it safe…and after a while my life has become milk toast. And before long I turn into what Leanord Sweet once called “A Pew Sitting Toad!”…everything lived between 40 and 60. Never a full out 100!


That’s why David challenges me! David didn't just shout "hallelujah" when there was a victory...he danced it! David didn't go into his room to squeeze out a tear when there was defeat...he wailed and shouted in anger! He didn’t put on the white-washed world's "cloak of respectability” that so many of us have been forced to wear these days. He lived danced and sang life to the fullest and trusted that God was big enough to handle everything he was going through. David wasn’t afraid to weep and dance because David's God was big enough to handle it!


And as I reflect on David's life, my heart is challenged, because I find that when I don’t shout “Hosanna” with all my heart (which is me 99 percent of the time), I also find it difficult to cry when my heart is down between my knees and hurting from loss. And that just isn’t good for my soul!


So, this week, dear God, let me not only be me, but dance me...all of me…and help me rely on you to dance with me in whatever I’m going through!


Your friend and pastor, contemplating a few new dance moves, Brook

Click here to watch my hopes for my first lesson


57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page