top of page
  • brookmcbride

How the Grinch almost Stole Camp Indianola

Updated: Jul 12

Let me just admit it...I didn’t want to go to camp this year!  Every year I sign up to go with joy in my heart, but this year my calendar just crashed in on me. For some reason (mainly because I didn’t check it out) I didn’t realize it was on a weekend this year.  Saturday-Tuesday to be exact. And, for some reason, I have the hardest time taking a Sunday off for camp. Mainly because then I don’t have that Sunday to take off with my family.  Second, I was flying out to see my son, Sam, and his partner, Iris, in NY right after that. The Wednesday after camp, to be exact. Did I really want to go to New York after being all tired out after camp?! Ugh! Maybe I should just call and cancel? Not NY, silly! Camp!


I pondered that a bit, and finally I decided I was going to head to camp after Sunday morning. But then something else comes up! Duh! It’s Pride Weekend in Seattle!  How did I miss that!?!? Ugh! Ugh! As you know Bear Creek UMC has an incredible booth for the Pride Parade. It’s the best 5 hours of my life! I’ve got to go to that!  That’s my jam!  So now what?

Well, I better call Paul and Sheri and tell them that I’m not going to be able to make it until...(let’s see the Pride Parade doesn’t get over until 3.  I’ve got to get on the ferry to get to Camp Indianola.  Maybe I can get there at 4:30?) Seriously I don’t want to do this!!! Paul and Sherry are going to be so disappointed!


But I do. I get out my phone and just as I’m about to call Paul and Sheri, I get a phone call.  It’s Paul. He is calling me! Oh man I hate disappointing these guys. Paul and Sheri are like the best camp deans in the world. They work so hard at making everyone at camp, including the counselors and the pastors, have a great experience. I mean they go over and above times 10. And here I am... giving this camp like a ½ of a 1? That’s just not going to cut it.  Except, it is what it is. There’s no way out of this.  And so, I answer and tell Paul the news. Of course, he’s the nicest guy in the world.  He rolls with it, of course. “Just get out there whenever you can!” Is what he says. But I know what he’s really thinking...he’s super disappointed in me.  I know I would be. Did I tell you that I hate disappointing Paul and Sheri? Ugh, Ugh, Ugh!


Anyway, I finally get to camp on Sunday night not at 4:15, but more like 6:15! When I arrive, they are all sitting down for supper. I’m pretty excited about that.  Maybe I can sneak in, grab a cup of water, and go unnoticed! But, of course, that’s not going to work. This is Paul and Sheri’s camp after all! They notice everything! They introduce me to the team and campers...and of course...everyone cheers! Ugh! Ugh! Ugh! Ugh! Ugh! “Hey everyone! Great news! Pops is here! (Did I tell you everyone has a camp name? Mine is “Pops”) He’s a great storyteller and we’re all excited to hear his wonderful stories. Let’s give him a great camp welcome!”  Now I am even grumpier than before! I don’t deserve this!  I would have felt better if they booed me. Needless to say, I sat down and tried to eat the lousy camp food.  At least that would match the way I felt. Camp food is always bad, right? Wouldn’t you know it...the taco platter is beyond good...Captain Cook (Sheri) can not only run a camp...she can cook!  The Grinch is starting to go down!  


After supper was group games. I took a walk up the ridge for some peace and quiet. But could I get any peace over all the laughter down by the beach? What in the world were they doing down there?  Can’t they see I’m trying to sulk up here! How can you all be so joyful? Yeesh!


At the campfire they all start singing camp songs. And, unfortunately, that kind of made me feel better. Talk about rubbing salt into the wounds of my Grinch heart! And then when it was my turn to tell a story, to be honest with you, I was hoping that they would all just be regular 3-6th graders and not pay attention to the “old and slow” pastor in front of them. But, of course, they did pay attention to me. All 40+ of them didn’t say a word. All 40+ of them leaned in and followed my every movement and word. By the end of the story, you could hear a sand dollar gently land on the beach. And during the prayer...they totally did it...all of them...prayed with all their heart. It was incredible.


And so, it went. Every time this grinch tried to “bah humbug” camp...camp surrounded me in moments of grace after grace after grace after grace until by the end of camp, I was not only glad I came...but realizing that I couldn’t have faced the week and months ahead without it! Once again, our UM camps took my shriveled-up heart, and through nothing but grace, community, laughter, song, campfire, games, and awesome food (in camping language I think basically that’s just called: Camp) sent me home whole again! 


Paul and Sheri, sign me up for next year! And this year I’ll be there...the whole time! Unless...


Your pastor and friend, the grinch...you know which one...the one after camp with the heart two times as big, Brook


PS: While at camp I had the wonderful experience of meeting our new camp directors at Camp Indianola, David Collins, and Romi Abelova. They are so gracious and full of enthusiasm for UM camping. They are going to do great things at Camp Indianola!  One of the things they have already done better is they have put together the Summer Camp schedule for next year! Elementary camp (for those going into 3-6 grade in the fall of 2025) is June 29-July 2nd! It’s already on my calendar!  I’d love to take some campers with me next year! Come join me and bring along your Grinch! He/she/or it won’t last!

138 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário


David Orendorff
David Orendorff
12 de jul.

And that is camp. Excellent. Thanks for refreshing my grinch heart. Shalom

Curtir
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page