top of page
  • brookmcbride

Leadership and What I Yearn For

Updated: Aug 23


If you've had an ear to our noisy world out there these days, you have been hearing a plethora of voices sharing their views about leadership. As a leader of a "world changing" organization (at least I hope we all see the church as a transformational organism), I take leadership pretty seriously. And so, I find myself observing other leaders and how they make things happen. I've been fascinated, for instance, observing the leadership differences between Pete Caroll (the Seahawk coach up to 2024), and the new coach of the Seahawks, Mike Macdonald. One chooses to lead with enthusiasm and positivity, the other with precision, efficiency, and accountability. Personally, I find coach Macdonald kind of boring...too much of an X and O guy. I miss Pete's smile and enthusiasm. Pete and I have similar styles...strong on enthusiasm and vision, not so strong on the details. That's why it's hard for me to admit that I think Coach McDonald's attention to detail might be what is needed right now. Wouldn't it be great if a leader had both?


But that's the truth, also about leadership. We all lead from a certain strength. And that strength often comes with some weaknesses. In the church we call them gifts and graces. A good leader isn't called to lead from his or her weaknesses...he or she is called to lead from their strengths, and to use those around them who might have those other gifts to help them lead!


Both leadership styles are valid...and given the circumstances...will be successful. That's why I find the Seahawk change in leadership so fascinating!


But, and this is important, the reason both leadership styles are effective or can be effective, is that each of these leaders have something, I believe, in common. No matter what style they lead from, they both come from a singular place in terms of values. They share some of the same core values.


Recently, Steve Kerr, the coach of the USA Men's Basketball team shared some of the values which he believed made a good leader. Both Carroll and Macdonald, posess these. Here's what he says:


"...as a coach and former player, a husband, a son, a father, even a grandfather, and as an American, I believe in a certain kind of leadership. I believe that leaders must display dignity. I believe that leaders must tell the truth. I believe that leaders should be able to laugh at themselves. I believe leaders must care for and love the people they are leading. I believe leaders must possess knowledge and expertise, but with the full awareness that none of us has all the answers, and in fact, some of the best answers often come from members of the team."


These words ring so true to me. I have high expectations for our leaders. I have high expectations for me as a leader. I think we all do. In fact, some of my greatest disappointments are because some of the leaders I've had haven't lived up to these characteristics. And when that has happened the wounds of disappointment are deep and lasting. But, if I'm honest, I know I haven't always lived up to these values in my leadership positions: father, spouse, pastor, friend, and peer. The truth is that in my leadership positions, I too, have caused pain and disappointment.


And that is why I'm thankful that I belong to an organization that is truly called to be a place of grace...the church. The church, when it is at its' best, understands that we are all humans moving on toward perfection...not there yet...but always moving on...always trying to lead in a better way. And when we fail, these core values are the values that help us get back up and try again. We are always learning to find new ways to "embody dignity, uphold truth, and work humbly, led by a love bigger than any one of us or our aspirations" (Pat Scriven, Director of Communications, PNW UMC)


Your pastor and friend, going on toward dignity, truth, humility, and love, Brook


PS: This article is inspired by a recent post written by Pat Scriven, the Director of Communications of the PNW United Methodist Conference. Thanks Pat!



64 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page