top of page
  • brookmcbride

Sugar, Butter, Flour


Cyndy and I watched the movie version of the hit musical “The Waitress” last night.  The main reason I wanted to watch this show was that we are featuring some of the music from this musical in worship this Sunday and I wanted to understand their context. The movie version of the musical came out last year to rave reviews. The original musical started on Broadway in 2016 and was nominated for 4 Tony awards.  This version features the pop star Sara Bareilles, who wrote the songs and lyrics for the show.  If you don’t want to watch the show at least listen to Bareilles’ version of her hit song called “She Used to be Mine”.   It is amazing.  Here are the lyrics to the first verse:


It's not simple to say

Most days I don't recognize me

These shoes and this apron

That place and its patrons

Have taken more than I gave 'em

It's not easy to know

I'm not anything like I used to be

Although it's true

I was never attention sweet center

I still remember that girl

She's imperfect but she tries

She is good but she lies

She is hard on herself

She is broken and won't ask for help

She is messy but she's kind

She is lonely most of the time

She is all of this mixed up

And baked in a beautiful pie



I love this song! I think it shares the very heart of what it means to be a human.  If I were writing a musical of the creation story, this would be the song Adam and Eve would sing right after they are sent out of the garden of Eden (or of innocence).


We read this story all wrong, by the way.  We try to make it about doing something wrong and being punished, but, in reality, it a story about what it’s like to grow up and realize we are becoming an adult.  We all “get thrown out” of our innocent childhoods sooner or later.  We all wake up to the fact that the world we live in isn’t a Disney movie.  And we come to realize that life is messy out here.  And we’re kind of messy too!


We’re  imperfect but we try

We are good but we lie

We are hard on ourselves

We are broken and won't ask for help

We are messy but were kind

We are lonely most of the time


That’s just who we are!


So often, though, we as Christians have kicked ourselves for it.  We’ve tried to wring the sin and messiness right out of us.


Is that really helpful?  And is it wise?


Maybe the better way is to learn to accept all of who we are, the messy and the kind, and to see us as I believe God does…as all of who we are “baked in a beautiful pie!”


One of my favorite books is a book written  by Mike Yaconelli called “Messy Spirituality”.  I read it every January just to remind me of the beautiful mess God has created me to be.  One of my favorite quotes in the book is this:


“Accepting the reality of our broken, flawed lives is the beginning of spirituality not because the spiritual life will remove our flaws but because we let go of seeking perfection and, instead, seek God, the one who is present in the tangledness of our lives.”


This year, maybe the truth of this quote will hit home.  I’m a beautiful pie and so are you.


Your friend and pastor, trying out a piece of “God loves me no matter what” pie…I dare you to try some!   Brook

71 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page