top of page
  • brookmcbride

Tiny Terrier Blesses Pastor on Ash Wednesday


“Sometimes God just tears a hole in the sky and comes down to be with us!" As I think those word I have to laugh.  Because I know better. God isn’t up there, God is always down here with us.  The problem is not that God refuses to come down, the problem is that I am blind to where God is present in my life! So let me try to rephrase this. “Sometimes God just miraculously tear the blinders off our eyes and only then do we realize the Sacred has always been with us.”


Now let me tell you why I’m saying this!  Last night was Ash Wednesday.  And as people came in, one of our faithful brought their dog!  I mean who in their right mind would bring their dog to an Ash Wednesday service?!?  Well, someone from Bear Creek, of course!  If there’s one thing the people of Bear Creek like besides people, it is our pets.  And this one is adorable.  She weighs in at 3 1/2 pounds and is simply the cutest thing alive!


And so we all circle around the cross, readying ourselves to receive the imposition of the ashes.  And as I go around the circle saying those incredibly profound words, “From Ashes or dust you came, to ashes or dust you shall return”, guess what happens? This little doggie puts out her paw!  I kid you not!  She wants a blessing.  And so I take my finger and form the shape of the cross on her paw, and as I’m doing this…she blesses me back!  This little dog gently licks the tip of my nose!  I felt like I had been touched by the hand of God! I kid you not!


But my night doesn’t end there. As I finish up the imposition of ashes I realize that I didn’t appoint anyone to anoint me.Not unusual.  I’ve often neglected myself in these rituals. After all,  I’m the pastor..I don’t need grace. (Hah! What a joke?).  But this time I felt God leading me to ask someone to bless me.  Who?  My Coordinating Board chair?  That would be cool. My minister of music?  So awesome!  No. There was a new family in our midst.  A new family with 3 amazing boys. 2 teenagers and one about 3rd or 4th grade. They’d been to our Sunday services a few times and I had been impressed by all of them, but especially these boys. They seemed to lean in during our worship service! One of the teen boys actually nodded his head in agreement during one of my messages. And this evening, here they were, leaning in again. 


And so, with the Holy Spirit guiding me, I gently turned to one of the teens and asked him to bless me.  And miracles of miracles he smiled and nodded yes.  And with the gentlest of hands he took the ashes and gently placed them on my forehead in the form of God’s grace.  In the form of a cross. And he even whispered the words to me!  I felt as I had been baptized again for the first time. I truly felt touched by the gentle hand of God.


Oh, to be double blessed on such a night!  O holy night!


As we enter this holy season of Lent.  May God rip off the blinders covering our hearts and help us all to see that we are not alone. That God is with us!


Your friend and pastor, feeling God’s holy kiss upon me…twice, Brook

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page