top of page
  • brookmcbride

Zebras, Keijo, and Finding Home


Has anybody spotted the missing zebra? If you live in the Seattle area you’ve heard all about this, but for those of you who live in other parts of the country, 4 zebras escaped from a truck that was transporting them to a petting zoo on I-90 just east of the Seattle area.  3 of them have been corralled, but one renegade male is still out in the wild.  I must admit that I have enjoyed some of the fun folks have been having on social media as they post “zebra spottings” on Facebook or Instagram or wherever. Here are just a few that I smiled at:









PS: As I chuckled at some of these posts, I was more than a little tempted to put up a Bear Creek UMC sighting! For instance, we are looking for a new Music Director. Wouldn’t it be fun to have our beloved zebra leading the band! Or how about serving communion! Or better yet, joining our children for the children’s sermon!


But, not to put a damper on all this fun, that poor zebra is in some danger! Being out in the wild can be a scary situation for a domesticated zebra! Our renegade zebra was last spotted in the North Bend area, so let’s hope and pray they find him and bring him to safety soon.

As I thought of that poor zebra out in the wild, all alone, I couldn’t help but think of some of the communities we try to serve here at Bear Creek UMC.   This week I received the news that one of our dear friends, who was a long-time member of Camp Unity Eastside (a house-less tent city that Bear Creek UMC often hosted during the winter months), has passed away. His name was Keijo. Many of you may remember him. Keijo had an infectious smile and an iconic shuffle that just had a way of making you love him! As one of the supervisors at the camp, he was always in the supervisor tent tending to people’s needs. He sometimes reminded me of the character Radar in the iconic “M.A.S.H.” T.V. series.



But most people almost immediately thought of Mr. Miyagi in Karate Kid when they saw Keijo. There was something about Keijo’s wise demeanor that brought that thought, I think.


Over the years I have gotten to know Keijo. In fact, after we helped him find housing, he would often stop by the church and want to chat or go out for lunch. He’s even been known to show up for worship on Sundays, even though he’s Buddhist!  And in the past year or two, Keijo and I have even tried golfing a couple of times!


But, as I think of that zebra out there in the wild, I am reminded of the struggles Keijo had finding his way back home. Keijo struggled with finding a place in this world. For years he wandered on the streets sleeping on cardboard boxes. He shared with me that the violence he encountered on the streets was real and brutal. Getting beat up on the streets was a regular occurrence. I asked him once, if he thought some of that might have been racially motivated (Keijo was Japanese) and he just laughed, looked at me, and exclaimed, “do you think?!?”  He said that on the streets “race” was always an issue. “And it’s not just the streets, Pastor Brook. Race is a part of my daily journey.”


One day Keijo was riding the buses of Seattle to keep warm, and one of the bus drivers told him about Camp Unity Eastside. Keijo seemed interested, so the bus driver offered to drive him over to the encampment, then being hosted at the parking lot of the UCC church here in Woodinville. Keijo rode the bus for 2 more hours and after his shift the bus driver drove him over to the camp.


Keijo said that as soon as he pulled up and was greeted by some of the camp residents, he thought this place might be different. But he still couldn’t trust it. He said that first night, he hardly slept, thinking that for sure this new group of residents would jump him and test his will.  But they didn’t. In fact, that morning he was greeted with a hot cup of coffee and a nice breakfast. As Keijo puts it, “It took me a while to realize these guys cared but after a while, I learned to live by trusting them. Let me tell you that was new for me, but after a while Camp Unity became kind of like my home.” Even after he found his own apartment, Keijo came back and volunteered at the camp 3 or 4 days a week. One time I asked him why he came back, and he said, “this is my family, Pastor Brook. I miss all of you!”


I’m very proud that I’ve been a part of a church that has been so welcoming to people like Keijo.  On Monday, May 27th at 6 pm (That’s Memorial Day) we plan to do a remembrance service for Keijo. As I met with some of the campers yesterday, we decided it would be fitting to do the service around the fire pit and tell stories. After all, Keijo’s family lived most of their lives around the fire telling stories.


As a final thought I’d like to leave you with a comment that one of Keijo’s friend, Daniel, made as he was talking about Keijo’s death. Daniel shared that upon hearing about Keijo’s passing, that he was sad but also thankful that Keijo died with a roof over his head, and a family (camp unity) that loved him. “Keijo died with dignity, and I think everyone in this world deserves at least that.” And may we all work to make that truly be so! Thanks, Bear Creek UMC and all the area churches who hosted Camp Unity, for being a part of that family!


Your friend and pastor, thankful for my spiritual home and family, Brook

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page